Witch Hunt in Wenatchee, WA - Lane Lawless' Old Stomping Ground

(1/9) > >>

lonemonkey:
Given Pastor Lane's likely connections to Wenatchee...
I thought we should look into the case a bit.  I for one had never heard of it.  The McMartin Pre-School case I studied back in college.
I find this particular case unsettling.
I also find it odd that the people of the church in Washington where Pastor Lane is accuses of child-molestation, are so nervous to speak about it.

There Was No Witch Hunt In Wenatchee Sex Probe

By Lucy Berliner
Special To The Times

THE recent verdict in the civil suit against officials in Wenatchee proved one crucial point. Ordinary citizens were charged with the duty of listening to evidence and argument by competent lawyers. They concluded that there were grounds for "reasonably cautious" professionals to pursue investigations and prosecutions on behalf of the children who reported abuse. They did not find evidence that rights were violated. In other words, there was no witch hunt.

That jury was not asked to decide the guilt or innocence of the plaintiffs. They had already been acquitted or had charges dismissed. But the central question of the Wenatchee cases still remains. How many children were abused and by whom? This we will never know for sure. Only the children and adults involved know the truth; the rest of us just decide whom to believe. Of all the people who have actually talked to the children or heard them testify, by far the majority have believed them; some have not.